The Polesworth Schools, School Standards Committee (SSC) acts on behalf of the Main Trust Board as a ‘Guardian of Standards’ where as far as possible, all their actions are focused on ensuring the highest standards of educational provision in the school. In broad terms the duties of the SSC are to:

  • To contribute to and fulfil the vision and ethos of Community Academies Trust as far as it relates to the school.
  • To implement and review the strategic plan for the school.
  • To promote the benefits of collaboration and actively work with others.
  • To develop positive relationships with the school’s community.
  • To engage fully and openly with any inspection of the school by OFSTED or any other public body to whom the school is accountable.
  • To engage fully and openly with any evaluative activities led by the Main Trust Board including peer reviews and safeguarding reviews.
  • To ensure that pupils and parents have a voice in the running and improvement of the school.
  • To hold the school’s leadership to account for the standards achieved by the school.

School Governors

Chair of Governors: Dr Sue Eaton, Community Governor – responsibility for Behaviour

Vice Chair of Governors: Mrs Tracey Moore, Community Governor – responsibility for Curriculum

Mr Scott Borders, Community Governor – responsibility for Health and Safety

Mrs Sarah Chesters – Community Governor – responsibility for Educational Visits

Mrs Joanna Collinson – Community Governor – responsibility for Child Protection and Safeguarding

Mrs Sally James – Parent Governor – responsibility for Inclusion and SEND

Mrs Katie McBeth – Teaching Staff Governor

Mr Dean Reynolds – Non-Teaching Staff Governor

Mrs Annaleigh Rowlands – Community Governor – responsibility for Pupil Premium

Mrs Nicola Smith – Parent Governor – responsibility for Student Progress

Mr Paul Smith – Community Governor

Mr David Tickle – Community Governor – responsibility for Teaching and Learning


To contact the Chair of Governors please use the details below:

Dr S Eaton (Chair of Governors), c/o Mrs R Shakespeare (Clerk to the SSC).

The Polesworth School, Dordon Road, Tamworth, Staffordshire, B78 1QT

Or email:


The Polesworth School is a member of the Community Academies Trust.

To view the trust Articles of Association, Scheme of Delegation, Governance Charter, Register of Interests and Funding Statement, please click here.

The Polesworth School Register of Attendance at SSC Meetings 21/22

The Polesworth School Register of Attendance at SSC Meetings 20/21